Caraga Region – After thorough deliberation of the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA) Regional Awards Committee headed by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Regional Director Lilibeth A. Famacion as Chairperson, the LTIA Regional Finalists for C.Y. 2012 are finally revealed.


The list of Regional Finalists CY 2012 Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards as follows:

Highly Urbanized Cities Category                -Brgy. San Vicente, Butuan City

Component Cities Category                         -Brgy. Telaje, Tandag City

1st – 3rd Class Municipalities Category         -Brgy. Macalang, Buenavista,     Agusan del Norte

4th – 6th Class Municipalities Category         -Brgy. Poblacion, Bacuag, Surigao   del Norte


               The LTIA Regional Assessment was held at DILG Regional Office – Local Governance Regional Resource Center (LGRRC) with the presence of the Regional Awards Committee: DILG RD Famacion; Ms. Chiara Marie S. Plaza of the Regional Trial Court (RTC) of Branch 3; Police Chief Inspector Quirino A. Baugbog, Jr. of the Philippine National Police of Regional Office; Mr. Winston S. Salvador, Project Supervisor of Propegemus Foundation, Inc.; and Ms. Mary May R. Cadosales-Diaz, Managing Director of Educational Discipline in Culture and Area-Based Development Services, Inc. (EDCADS).


            Three major criteria, to wit (1) efficiency in operations, (2) effectiveness in securing Katarungang Pambarangay (KP) objectives, and (3) creativity and resourcefulness of the Lupong Tagapamayapa were followed in the assessment.


The Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA) was established since 1997 as a means to institutionalize a system of granting economic benefits and other incentives to the Lupong Tagapamayapa that demonstrates exemplary performance in settling disputes at the grassroots level.


Republic Act 7160, otherwise known as the 1991 Local Government Code gives barangays the mandate to enforce peace and order and provide support for the effective enforcement of human rights and justice. Decentralization has facilitated the recognition of the Katarungang Pambarangay or Barangay Justice System as an alternative venue for the resolution of disputes. Thus created in each barangay a body to be known as Lupong Tagapayapa (hereinafter referred to as Lupon) composed of the Barangay Captain as chairman and not less than ten (10) nor more than twenty (20) members. This leads to the creation of incentivizing the performances of the Lupons known to be as the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA). (Florian Faith Jr. P. Bayawa, LGOO II, DILG 13)

Back to Top