Butuan City—After thorough deliberation of the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA) Regional Awards Committee last March 30, 2016, the LTIA 2016 Regional Finalists covering first to fourth quarters of C.Y. 2015 were revealed yesterday through a Memorandum issued by Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Regional Director Lilibeth A. Famacion, Chairperson of the awards committee.


For the Highly Urbanized Cities Category, Brgy. Tiniwisan of Butuan City, the sole entry, was assessed and deemed fit for the national search. This is the second time Brgy. Tiniwisan is an entry for Butuan City after Brgy. San Vicente was awarded Hall-of-Famer status in the National Search for having won for three consecutive years in the same category.

For Component Cities Category, Brgy. Taft of Surigao City, Surigao del Norte rose from being first runner-up last year to regional winner this year. It bested Brgy Telaje of Tandag City which is another improving contender being first runner up this year from being second runner up last year; and Brgy. Mabini, Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte which unfortunately slid as last year’s regional winner to second runner up this year.

For 1st – 3rd Class Municipalities Category, Brgy. Alegria of San Francisco, Agusan del Sur held the same position last year as regional winner, besting first runner up Urbiztondo, Claver, Surigao del Norte which rose two notches up from being third runner up last year; Brgy. R.E. Ecleo, Sr., Cagdianao, Dinagat Islands which is a new entry for the province but held the same position as second runner up with that of Brgy. Cabungaan, the entry from Cagdinanao, Dinagat Islands last year; Brgy. Poblacion of Barobo, Surigao del Sur finished third runner up, one notch higher from being fourth runner up last year; and Brgy. Macalang, Buenavista, Agusan del Norte which slid from 1st runner up last year to this year’s fourth runner up.

And for 4th – 6th Class Municipalities Category, Brgy. Poblacion, Bacuag, Surigao del Norte jumped up two notches from being second runner up last year to being this year’s winner, winning over Brgy. Doña Helene, Basilisa, Dinagat Islands in the same position from the province’s entry last year (i.e. Brgy. Sta. Cruz of San Jose, Dinagat Islands); Brgy. Poblacion, Cortes, Surigao del Sur which is a new entry from the province but reached second runner up (last year’s entry, La Purisima of Cagwait, was third runner up); and Brgy Poblacion, Kitcharao, Agusan del Norte at third runner up (new entry from the province, their entry last year, Brgy. Tagmamarkay of Tubay, was regional winner).

All in all, Surigao del Norte lupons were most improved, rising from lower ranks from last year’s regional assessment, and winning two categories and one first runner up this year. Surigao del Sur lupons generally fared better as well, two first runners-up and one second runner up this year from being last place in all three categories last year. Agusan del Sur and the Province of Dinagat Islands maintained their performance. Agusan del Sur’s sole entry was in the 1st-3rd class municipality category and maintained the top place, while Dinagat Islands, although new entries, generally maintained their positions (first runner up and second runner up). Unfortunately Agusan del Norte lupons showed declining performance this year.

These regional winners also serve as qualifiers/finalists to the national search where they will compete against other regions for the top three spots per category. The National Winners will be awarded in December this year at the Malacañang Palace.

The LTIA Regional Assessment was held at DILG Regional Office – Local Governance Regional Resource Center (LGRRC) with the presence of the Regional Awards Committee (RAC): DILG RD Famacion as chair; Atty. John S. Magdaraog, LTIA RAC Vice Chairperson and Regional Prosecutor of the Department of Justice XIII; and RAC Members Atty. Cisco Franz S. Maclang, of the Branch 1, Regional Trial Court, 10th Judicial Region; PS Insp. Junalyn Basa Suan of the Philippine National Police XIII; Exec. Dir. Arnold L. Tapere of Propegemus Foundation, Inc. and Dir. Mary May R. Cadosales-Diaz of the Educational Discipline in Culture and Area-Based Development Services, Inc. (EDCADS).

Three major criteria, to wit (1) efficiency in operations, (2) effectiveness in securing Katarungang Pambarangay (KP) objectives, and (3) creativity and resourcefulness of the Lupong Tagapamayapa were followed in the assessment.


The Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA) was established since 1997 as a means to institutionalize a system of granting economic benefits and other incentives to the Lupong Tagapamayapa that demonstrates exemplary performance in settling disputes at the grassroots level. These Lupons, comprising of the Punong Barangay as chair and 10-20 members, are based on the mandate of the barangays to enforce peace and order and provide support for the effective enforcement of human rights and justice as stipulated in Republic Act 7160, otherwise known as the 1991 Local Government Code. Decentralization has facilitated the recognition of the Katarungang Pambarangay or Barangay Justice System as an alternative venue for the resolution of disputes. 

Back to Top