The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region 13 (Caraga) with support from the Local Government Academy (LGA) has conducted the Orientation-Workshop on Regulatory Simplification for Local Governments (RS4LG) on September 14-16, 2016 at Raquiza Hall of Balanghai Hotel and Convention Center, Butuan City.

            With the recent pronouncement of President Rodrigo R. Duterte during his State of the Nation Address (SONA) relative to the ease of doing business and fast government processing time in issuing permits and licenses and other transaction, the RS4LG complements to its implementation.

           Now on the third year, DILG Region 13 (Caraga) identifiedfive (5) new target LGUs in the region for CY 2016. These are the Municipality of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur; Municipality of Nasipit, Agusan del Norte; and the Municipality of Esperanza, Agusan del Sur; Municipality of Mainit, Surigao del Norte and the Municipality of San Jose, Dinagat Islands which were invited in the said activity.

           In line with the Joint Memorandum Circular No. 1, Series of 2016 Re: “Revised Standards in Processing Business Permits and Licenses in all Cities and Municipalities”, RS4LG seeks to improve the LGUs’ processes in starting a business. It aims to assist the target LGUs in fostering a business climate that will contribute to private sector development as well as the economic development of the LGU. It involves an exhaustive review of a LGUs’ regulatory framework with the objectives of removing unnecessary requirements in registering a business. The overall end-result is the enhancement of the LGUs’ competiveness as an investment destination complemented by a better-planned and managed urban growth.

            Also, it focused on enhancing the existing business permit and licensing system (BPLS) to support the LGUs in improving their regulatory systems and processes relating to starting a business and complements the BPLS program by providing an in-depth analysis of the LGU’s regulatory framework.

            Participants of the activity were the LCE, Municipal Administrators, Business Permit and Licensing Officers (BPLOs), Municipal Engineers (MEs) of the Office of the Building Official, Sanitary Inspectors / Municipal Health Officer (MHO), Municipal Treasurers, Zoning Officers/Planning and Development Coordinators and Sangguniang Bayan members.

            At the end of the activity, the participants submitted their Action Plans in the implementation of the RS4LG with the commitment of the LGUs to enter into a Memorandum of Agreement with the DILG and LGA. (LGOO V Florian Faith Jr. P. Bayawa, DILG 13)

Back to Top