The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region XIII – Caraga confers the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) Markers to nineteen (19) LGU Passers in calendar year 2019 through a Regional Virtual Awarding Ceremony dubbed as: “SEAL OF GOOD LOCAL GOVERNANCE (SGLG) AWARDS CY 2019: PAGPUPUGAY SA KATAPATAN AT KAHUSAYAN NG PAMAHALAANG LOKAL”. This will be shown through Facebook Page ( and Youtube Channel of DILG Caraga on February 5, 2021 at 1:00 PM.

The Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) symbolizes integrity and good performance of local governments. SGLG became a law on August 2, 2019, known as Republic Act No. 11292, also known as “The Seal of Good Local Governance Act of 2019”. The Seal shifts its focus to results-based parameters that would influence behavioral change, which will include output-outcome indicators that exacts accountability from the local government units (LGUs). It enjoins LGUs to perform a holistic approach to development by passing all ten (10) Governance Areas. To earn the Seal, LGUs must be “ALL-IN” by passing all the ten (10) assessment areas, namely:

  1. Good Financial Administration and Sustainability
  2. Disaster Preparedness
  3. Social Protection and Sensitivity
  4. Safety, Peace and Order
  5. Business-Friendliness and Competitiveness
  6. Environmental Management


  1. Tourism, Heritage Development, Culture and Arts
  2. Sustainable Education
  3. Health Compliance and Responsiveness
  4. Youth Development

 The LGU Awardees of SGLG CY 2019 that will be conferred with the Markers are as follows:

  • Cities:
  1. Tandag City, Surigao del Sur
  2. Surigao City, Surigao del Norte
  • Municipalities:
  1. Carmen, Agusan del Norte
  2. Las Nieves, Agusan del Norte
  3. Esperanza, Agusan del Sur
  4. Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur
  5. Trento, Agusan del Sur
  6. Burgos, Surigao del Norte
  7. Gigaquit, Surigao del Norte
  8. Mainit, Surigao del Norte
  9. Malimono, Surigao del Norte
  10. Sison, Surigao del Norte
  11. Monica, Surigao del Norte
  12. Tubod, Surigao del Norte
  13. Cagwait, Surigao del Sur
  14. Carrascal, Surigao del Sur
  15. Cortes, Surigao del Sur
  16. Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur
  17. Dinagat, Dinagat Islands

Ms. Lilibeth A. Famacion, CESO III, Regional Director of DILG XIII encouraged the LGUs, saying that, “Regardless of demography or income class of LGUs, every LGU should perform its role in the delivery of efficient and effective service to its constituents. Just as it is most needed in these times amidst this COVID-19 pandemic, LGUs must be the stronghold of every community and every individual. Remember that No assessment is ever difficult for an LGU that is well-prepared.”

“Thus, we enjoin all LGU officials and functionaries to work ten times harder to achieve the Seal”, emphasized Director Famacion.

With SGLG, LGU performance is gauged in its pursuit for the promotion of general welfare anchored in Section 17 of RA No. 7160 or the Local Government Code (LGC) of the Philippines. This is consistent with the policy of the State to promote transparency, accountability, efficiency and effectiveness in service delivery. 

(LGOO VI Florian Faith Jr. P. Bayawa, DILG XIII)

Back to Top